This is us

Zoi and Phil - couple and team at the same time. Our heart beats for handmade ceramics from Portugal. We have made it our mission to combine traditional craftsmanship with modern design and bring a piece of Portugal into your own four walls. The goal is to develop durable products under fair and sustainable conditions.

Phil was taken to Portugal again and again by his father at a young age, perhaps to continue the trade in ceramics one day. In the process, he learned to love the country, the people and the culture. Phil is primarily concerned with purchasing and inventory. What connects Phil with Portugal? The serenity of the Portuguese. Everything is a bit more relaxed. Enviable!

Zoi spent some time in London after graduating from high school. Since then, she has been characterized by her cosmopolitanism and creativity. She is responsible for social media and marketing. What does Zoi love about Portugal? The loud sound of the sea and that you can get fresh fish in any restaurant. And good red wine, of course.

Portofino Ceramica

was already founded 25 years ago by Richard Pollmeier, Phil's father. To this day, he imports handmade ceramics from Portugal and supplies the wholesale trade. Why actually Portofino Ceramica? Isn't Portofino a place in northern Italy? Correct! Portofino is where our brand was born.

Since Phil joined the family business, we quickly realized: we want to make our unique ceramics accessible to everyone. We want to take people like you on our journey, inspire and revive handmade natural products.

The design

The proximity to the Atlantic Ocean is often reflected in the designs of our ceramics - that's important to us - because we want to bring a piece of Portugal into your four walls. Before we travel to Portugal and visit the factories, we always have a pretty clear idea of what we want. Once we have decided on a color on site at the factory, we apply it to molds of our choice. From this, samples are created. Once the color has been successfully applied to the molds, we first test the tableware at home for a few weeks to see if the molds are suitable for everyday use and the dishwasher, for example. Often, when we unpack the patterns, we are already so enamored that the decision is quickly made. Rarely are we nsatisfied and have to work again on the design.

Production

We have made it our mission to combine beautiful natural products from traditional craftsmanship with modern design. The result is Portofino Ceramica - handmade ceramics from Portugal. But what does handmade mean exactly? How can you imagine it? How are the shapes and unique color gradients created?

Our producers

We work with several Portuguese family businesses, all located between Porto and Lisbon. There, our unique tableware and vases are created with much love and care for a humane and environmentally friendly production. No matter how big or small the manufactory is, our producers manage with great passion to combine our design and color ideas with traditional craftsmanship. It gives us great pleasure to develop new things again and again in close cooperation.

The production process

All our products are made by hand. Therefore, even small deviations in shape and color occur, which give our ceramics its character. No two plates are alike, every color gradient on the cups is unique.
Stoneware is used as the basis of our products - a fine, white clay. In the first step, round plates are punched from lumps of clay, which are then shaped by hand. This is how the organic shapes are created.
In the second step, the finished shapes usually go outside to dry in the sun. The heat of the sun draws the moisture out of the raw material. This prevents the ceramic from cracking in the kiln.
Because in the next step, the molds are fired in a kiln at about 1,200 degrees for eight hours. Once the goods have cooled, they are glazed by hand. The so-called reactive glazes provide the unique color gradients that look different on each piece.
In the final step, the glazed products go into the kiln once again. After eight hours in the hot oven, the tableware is ready and packed in boxes. When the pallets arrive from Portugal, it's time to unpack and fall in love.

Das sind wir

Zoi und Phil – Paar und Team zugleich. Unser Herz schlägt für handgemachte Keramik aus Portugal. Wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, traditionelles Handwerk mit modernem Design zu verbinden und ein Stück Portugal in die eigenen vier Wände zu bringen. Das Ziel ist es, langlebige Produkte unter fairen und nachhaltigen Bedingungen zu entwickeln.

Phil wurde bereits im jungen Alter immer wieder von seinem Vater mit nach Portugal genommen, um vielleicht eines Tages den Handel mit Keramik fortzuführen. Dabei lernte er das Land, die Menschen und die Kultur lieben. Phil kümmert sich vor allen Dingen um den Einkauf und Lagerbestand. Was Phil mit Portugal verbindet? Die Gelassenheit der Portugiesen. Alles läuft etwas entspannter ab. Beneidenswert!

Zoi verbrachte nach dem Abitur einige Zeit in London. Weltoffenheit und Kreativität prägen sie seitdem. Sie ist für die Bereiche Social Media und Marketing zuständig. Was Zoi an Portugal liebt? Das laute Meeresrauschen und, dass man in jedem Restaurant frischen Fisch bekommt. Und guten Rotwein natürlich.

Portofino Ceramica

wurde bereits vor 25 Jahren von Richard Pollmeier, Phils Vater,  gegründet. Bis heute importiert er handgemachte Keramik aus Portugal und beliefert den Großhandel. Wieso eigentlich Portofino Ceramica? Ist Portofino nicht ein Ort in Norditalien? Richtig! In Portofino ist unsere Marke entstanden. 

Seit Phil in das Familienunternehmen mit eingestiegen ist, wurde uns schnell klar: wir möchten die einzigartige Keramik für jeden zugänglich machen. Wir wollen Menschen wie dich mit auf unsere Reise nehmen, inspirieren und die handgemachten Naturprodukte neu aufleben lassen.

Das Design

Die Nähe zum Atlantik spiegelt sich oft in den Designs unserer Keramik wieder – das ist uns wichtig – denn wir wollen dir ein Stück Portugal in die vier Wände bringen. Bevor wir nach Portugal reisen und die Manufakturen besuchen, haben wir immer eine ziemlich genaue Vorstellung von dem, was wir wollen. Haben wir uns vor Ort in der Fabrik für eine Farbe entschieden, setzen wir diese auf Formen unserer Wahl um. Daraus werden Muster erstellt. Ist die Farbe auf den Formen gelungen, testen wir das Geschirr zu Hause erstmal ein paar Wochen, ob die Formen zum Beispiel für den Alltag und die Spülmaschine geeignet sind. Oft sind wir beim Auspacken der Muster bereits so verliebt, dass die Entscheidung schnell getroffen ist. Selten sind wir nzufrieden und müssen nochmal am Design arbeiten.

Herstellung

Wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, schöne Naturprodukte aus traditionellem Handwerk mit modernem Design zu verbinden. Das Ergebnis ist Portofino Ceramica – handgemachte Keramik aus Portugal. Aber was bedeutet von Hand gemacht genau? Wie kann man sich das vorstellen? Wie entstehen die Formen und einzigartigen Farbverläufe?

Unserer Produzenten

Wir arbeiten mit verschiedenen portugiesischen Familienbetrieben zusammen, die sich alle zwischen Porto und Lissabon befinden. Dort entstehen mit viel Liebe und Bedacht auf ein menschlich- sowie umweltfreundliches Produzieren unser einzigartiges Geschirr und Vasen. Egal wie groß oder klein die Manufaktur ist, unsere Produzenten schaffen es mit großer Leidenschaft, unsere Design- und Farbideen mit der traditionellen Handwerkskunst zu verbinden. Es bereitet uns viel Freude, in enger Zusammenarbeit immer wieder Neues zu entwickeln.

Der Produktionsablauf

All unsere Produkte sind von Hand gefertigt. Deshalb entstehen auch kleine Abweichungen in Form und Farbe, die unserer Keramik seinen Charakter verleihen. Kein Teller gleicht dem anderen, jeder Farbverlauf auf den Tassen ist einmalig.
Als Basis unserer Produkte wird Steinzeug verwendet – ein feiner, weißer Ton. Im ersten Schritt werden aus Tonklumpen runde Platten gestanzt, die anschließend mit Hand in ihre Form gebracht werden. Dadurch entstehen die organischen Formen.
Im zweiten Schritt kommen die fertigen Formen in der Regel zum Trocknen nach draußen in die Sonne. Die Wärme der Sonne zieht die Feuchtigkeit aus der Rohware. So kommt es im Ofen nicht zu Rissen in der Keramik.
Denn im nächsten Schritt werden die Formen in einem Ofen bei etwa 1.200 Grad für acht Stunden gebrannt. Ist die Ware abgekühlt, wird sie mit Hand glasiert. Die sogenannten reaktiven Glasuren sorgen für die einzigartigen Farbverläufe, die bei jedem Teil anders aussehen.
Im letzten Schritt kommen die glasierten Produkte noch einmal in den Ofen. Nach acht Stunden im heißen Ofen ist das Geschirr fertig und wird in Kartons verpackt. Kommen die Paletten aus Portugal bei uns an heißt es dann: auspacken und verlieben.